The Wanted List

October 19, 2011

What the store needs now is books. I just messaged Rick Moody (Garden State, The Ice Storm, Purple America, The Black Veil) on Facebook about the hole in our shelves the size of his opus, and he’s gonna generously ship down some of his British editions. Paul Lozano came by the other day with a gym bag full of solid works I was excited to put up – and so this must go, mass overland shipments in the At the Spine van now verboten. So this must go. Does anybody out there have any of these?:

Within the Context of No Context by George W.S. Trow; Lolita; The Road; White Teeth; Carpenter’s Gothic; Freedom; Murder City; The Northern Clemency; Jesus’ Son; The Savage Detectives; Under the Volcano: anything and everything by Jack Kerouac, Roberto Bolaño, David Foster Wallace,  Lorrie Moore, James Baldwin, Denis Johnson, Cormac McCarthy, William T. Vollmann, Kurt Cobain, Herman Melville, Philip K. Dick,  William Blake, Ezra Pound, Hermann Hesse, William S. Burroughs, Yukio Mishima, Jonathan Lethem, Derrick Jensen, Ernest Hemingway, Emily Dickinson, William Styron, Joan Didion, Ralph Ellison, W.G. Sebald, Kurt Vonnegut, Patrick Susskind, Friedrich Nietzche, Chris Ware, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Charles Bukowski, Elizabeth Bishop, Robert Lowell, Franz Kafka, Albert Camus, Fyodor Dostoevski, J.G. Ballard, Christopher Alexander, Alex Ross,  D.B.C. Pierre, Michel Houellebecq, Marcel Proust, Leo Tolstoy, Philip Hensher, Sapphire, Salman Rushdie, Robert Graves, George MacDonald Fraser, Anne Carson, Gore Vidal,, Soseki Natsume, Yasunari Kawabata, H.P. Lovecraft, W.H. Auden…

… can you please put them in a box and send them here?

6 Responses to “The Wanted List”

  1. harrybrake Says:

    I will have to figure out a way to get them to you, I do not have a car, the 4-5 boxes of books are HUGE heavy and tons of them, but I will try and figure something out….school ad working makes it complicated….LOL….Most of the things you have we still have are in good shape, we have so many odds and ends of things…..however, when I go to the states in November – November 17-23rd, I can maybe get some texts for you if I see them?


  2. PLEASE. Everything in the list on this post – especially the titles at the start – will be updated, check there. So torn about selling my gems (two just went out the door, ‘Murder City’ and ‘The Northern Clemency’) and need to replace them badly. THANK YOU.

  3. Stephanie Mark Says:

    Oh my goodness….do you remember me from CSUN and the Northridge review? Look at what you’ve been up to!

    Stephanie Mark

      • Stephanie Says:

        Helmet Head, I believe was what you called me back then…laughing. Do you ever keep in touch with Kate Haake or anyone else involved? I own a property in Mercer Island (trying to sell) so I get to WA on occasion. Hope all is well with you.
        Stephanie


      • Haven’t talked to Kate in about thirteen years, since she put a story of mine in an anthology she was putting together for Longman. Would like to, though. I’ll be up in LA sometime late January/early February for this ‘Grassroots’ thing. Whoa, Mercer Island, family ghosts and memories of thirty years ago there. Did you know the Duwamish believed it was evil and sank beneath the lake at night? I NEVER get to WA anymore – haven’t been up there in a year and a half. I’m done. You in LA?


Leave a comment